Oceania Travel Guide

Oceania Travel Guide
A Vagabond Life

Oceania Travel Guide A Vagabond Life

Oceania Travel Guide

Oceania consists of 15 countries and includes Australasia,  Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia and is my home region.

The break down across the region is as below.


Australasia consist of Australia and New Zealand.


Melanesia is made up of Fiji, Vanuatu, Solomon Islands, Papua New Guinea, New Caledonia, and parts of Indonesia – particularly Western New Guinea.


Micronesia is a group of 607 islands that are spread out across the western pacific and includes Guam.


Polynesia is made up of New Zealand, Solomon Islands, Kingdom of Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, and Samoa

The region is vast and very diverse, it spans two hemispheres, the eastern and western and has a land mass of over 8 million square kilometres . Australia contrasts from deserts to mountains, to rain forests to magnificent beaches. Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia are all Island regions with swaying palm trees, coral atolls and long white sandy beaches. The area is a popular tourist destination and appeals to all types of travellers offering everything from top end resorts to village homestays.

Travelling time to Oceania can be lengthy so give yourself enough time to see the sights. The pacific region of Oceania is also in a cyclone area which occurs during the summer months. It is important to be aware of this when planning a trip to this part of the world..

Explore Oceania By Map

Oceania Destinations Placeholder
Oceania Destinations

Oceania Travel Guides